IAIAsa Free State Branch Committee members 2023

Free State Branch Chair: Eldalize Kruger

Eldalize Kruger obtained a M.Sc in Environmental Management degree in 2003 at the NWU. After initially, working for a company specializing in mine rehabilitation and contributing to environmental management in the mining environment, she moved to Bloemfontein in 2001 where she joined the staff of the Geography Department of the University of the Free State. She teaches courses in general physical geography (at first year level) as well as environmental management courses (at third year and honours level). Her research interests include environmental management focusing on various aspects of environmental impact assessments; and environmental awareness and -education.

Vice Chair: Hanlie Stander

Hanlie Stander obtained her M.Sc. (Zoology) at the University of the Free State. She is a Registered Environmental AssessmentPractitioner with more than 14 years’ experience as a consultant. She served on the IAIAsa Free State Branch Committee between 2013 and 2017 and is currently the Vice Chair of the said branch.

Secretary: Marguerite Cronje

Marguerite Cronje completed her B.Sc and B.Sc. Hons at the University of the Free State (UFS), as well as a MEM at the Centre of Environmental Management (UFS). She worked as an EAP at MDA Town Planning & Environmental in Bloemfontein for seven years, whereafter she’s been consulting as an EAP as a sole trader and doing contract work for various companies for the last 10 years, specialising mainly in residential and infrastructure projects in the Free State and Northern Cape.

Treasurer: Lorato Tigedi

Lorato Tigedi holds a BSc Hons Wildlife from the University of the Free State. She is the sole member of NSVT Consultants, specializing in Environmental and Social Science Consulting, which was established in 2011. She has 20 years of experience in the consulting field and thus has completed a myriad of environmental management applications like basic assessment, environmental impact assessment, waste management license, and water use license applications for various developments. She is a registered member of the South African Council for Natural Scientific Professions, Environmental Assessment Practitioners of South Africa and is a licensed International Association for Public Participation trainer.